It is a 5% tax on interest and dividends income.
All New Hampshire residents and fiduciaries whose gross interest and dividends income, from all sources, exceeds $2,400 annually ( $4800 for joint filers). In addition, limited liability companies, partnerships, associations and trusts with non-transferable shares whose gross interest and dividends income, from all sources, exceeds $2,400 annually must also file and pay I&D Tax.
Yes. There is an exemption for income of $2,400. A $1,200 exemption is available for residents who are 65 years of age or older. A $1,200 exemption is available for residents who are blind regardless of their age. And, a $1,200 exemption is available to disabled individuals who are unable to work, provided they have not reached their 65th birthday.
The I&D Tax return, Form DP-10, is due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable period. The Form DP-10 and Form DP-10-ES Estimates may be obtain from the Department's website or by calling the Forms Line at (603) 230-5001.
For calendar year filers whose I&D Tax liability will exceed $500 ( $200 prior to 2004), estimated tax payments, paid at 25% each, are due on April 15, June 15 and September 15 of the current calendar year, and January 15 of the subsequent calendar year. For fiscal year filers, estimates are due on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th month of the taxable period.
Yes, you must report all such distributions, including non-cash distributions, on Page 2, Line 2 of the New Hampshire I&D Tax return. If any part of a distribution is not subject to tax, you would deduct the appropriate amount on Page 2, Line 4.
Yes, if the distribution is made to a NH Resident.
Yes, you must report your portfolio income, gains and losses in Page 2, Line 2 of the New Hampshire I&D Tax return, but then you deduct them on Page 2, Line 4.
For taxable periods ending before December 31, 2 013, if the trust has transferable shares (i.e. if you can freely transfer your shares without causing a dissolution of the trust) the entire distribution received by a NH resident is taxable. If the trust has non-transferable shares, the trust itself is subject to tax on the interest and dividends it receives (and distributions from the trust are not taxable to the recipients).
For taxable periods ending on or after December 31, 2013, interest and dividend income received by estates held by trustees treated as grantor trusts under section 671 of the United States Internal Revenue Code shall be included in the return of their grantor, to the extent that the grantor is an inhabitant or resident of New Hampshire. Income reported by, and taxed federally as interest or dividends to, a trust beneficiary who is an individual inhabitant or resident of New Hampshire with respect to distributions from a trust that is not treated as a grantor trust under section 671 of the United States Internal Revenue Code shall be included as interest or dividends in the return of such beneficiary and subject to taxation in accordance with the provisions of RSA Chp. 77.
The New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration is required by the Internal Revenue Service to notify any non-corporate taxpayer by January 31, of activity in the prior year that was a refund, credit or offset of taxes based on income. If a refund is indicated you will have received a corresponding check. A credit is an overpayment, which is applied to another tax period. An offset is an overpayment that is applied to a tax notice. We must also provide the information to the IRS, and you may be required to report all or part of the amount of the New Hampshire Form 1099-G as income on your federal return. Give the form to your preparer, if you have one; or review the instructions in your federal tax booklet for the proper federal treatment.
No. If one spouse is not a resident, the resident spouse shall file a return alone and report his or her interest and dividend income, and 50% of the interest and/or dividends from jointly held investments.
Factors include, but are not limited to: Do you maintain a home, spending a greater percent of time in New Hampshire than elsewhere; have you advised a state or local agency you are a resident; are you registered to vote in New Hampshire; are you licensed to drive in New Hampshire?
Certain Tax Deferred Investment Plans are reportable to New Hampshire, but may not be taxable. You may contact your plan administrator for details about your plan or visit the web site of the US Department of Labor Frequently Asked Questions About Pension Plans and ERISA at: www.dol.gov/ebsa/faqs/faq_compliance_pension.html.
Call Central Tax Services at (603) 230-5920. Requests for corrections to your account must be sent to Document Processing Resolutions, PO Box 1004, Concord, NH 03302-1004.
New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration
Governor Hugh Gallen State Office Park
109 Pleasant Street (Medical & Surgical Building)
(603) 230-5000 |
TDD Access Relay NH: 1-800-735-2964 |
fax: (603) 230-5945
Contact the Webmaster