New Hampshire Revenue Administration Department Logo
Website Name - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Interest & Dividends Tax

The Interest & Dividends ("I&D") Tax was enacted in 1923. The tax is assessed on interest and dividend income at a rate of 5%. Interest and dividend income of $2,400 ($4,800 for joint filers) is exempt from the I&D tax. An additional exemption of $1,200 is available to taxpayers who are 65 years of age or older, blind, or younger than age 65 and disabled and unable to work.


Related Links

Interest & Dividends Tax "Frequently Asked Questions"
Interest & Dividends Tax Laws
Interest & Dividends Tax Rules
Interest & Dividends Tax Forms and Instructions

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Portable Document Format (.pdf). Visit for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.

New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration
Governor Hugh Gallen State Office Park
109 Pleasant Street (Medical & Surgical Building), Concord NH
(603) 230-5000  |  
TDD Access Relay NH: 1-800-735-2964  |  
fax: (603) 230-5945
Contact the Webmaster