To skip navigationdra
dra
State of Nh Revenue Dept
 
photo of Revenue building
IndividualsBusinessLocal Government


efile




Frequently Asked Questions > Does NH have an Income Tax or Sales Tax?
 
New Hampshire does not have a general sales tax or an income tax on an individual's reported W-2 wages. There are taxes on an individual's interest and dividends income, inheritance, business taxes, consumer excise taxes and other taxes as listed below. Fuel taxes are administered by the NH Dept. of Safety Road Toll office at 603-271-2311.
 

Overview of New Hampshire Taxes
General Tax Information
(603) 230-5920

It is the intent of the Department of Revenue Administration that this publication be for general tax information purposes and therefore should not be construed to be a complete discussion of all aspects of these tax laws. Since rates, percentages and other aspects of taxation change, it is recommended that any interested person inquire directly to this department for current information pertinent to your situation.

Select any tax item below to view a description:

Currently, New Hampshire does not have a Sales Tax - Explanation of our policy concerning Resale Certificates.

back to topInterest & Dividend Tax

Statute: RSA 77
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 900 | Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is it?
A 5% tax is assessed on interest and dividend income. The State of New Hampshire does not have an income tax on an individual's reported W-2 wages.

Who pays it?
Resident individuals, fiduciaries, and trusts with non-transferable shares earning interest and dividend taxable income of more than $2,400 annually ($4,800 for joint filers). In addition, the following exemptions may also apply: 1) a $1,200 exemption is available for residents who are 65 years of age or older; 2) a $1,200 exemption is available for residents who are blind regardless of their age; and 3) a $1,200 exemption is available to disabled individuals who are unable to work, provided they have not reached their 65 th birthday.

When is the return due?
The return is due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable period. There is no filing requirement for an individual whose total interest and dividend income, after deducting all interest from U.S. obligations or other non-taxable income, is less than $2,400 ($4,800 for joint filers) for a taxable period.

Do I have to make estimated payments?
For calendar year filers whose tax liability will exceed $200 ($500 after 1/1/2004), estimated tax payments, paid at 25% each, are due on April 15, June 15 and September 15 of the current calendar year, and January 15 of the subsequent calendar year. For fiscal year filers estimates are due on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th month of the taxable period.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Taxpayer Services at (603) 230-5920 or write to NH DRA at PO Box 637, Concord, NH 03302-0637.

back to topGambling Winnings Tax

Statute: RSA 77:39
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 3100
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is the New Hampshire Gambling Tax?
The New Hampshire Gambling Tax is a 10% tax on any and all gambling winnings.

What are gambling winnings?
RSA 77:38, III defines "gambling winnings" as winnings from lotteries and games of chance including, but not limited to bingo, slot machines, keno, poker tournaments, and any other gambling winnings subject to federal income tax withholding.

Who pays the New Hampshire Gambling Tax?
If the tax is not withheld by the New Hampshire entity paying out your gambling winnings, then you are responsible for paying the tax.

back to topInheritance and Estate Tax

Statutes: RSA 86, RSA 87 and RSA 89
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 1300
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

Note: The Legacy & Succession Tax (RSA 76) was repealed, effective for deaths occurring on or after January 1, 2003.

Who do I contact with questions?
Estate & Legacy Bureau, Audit Division, PO Box 457, Concord, NH 03302-0457, or call (603) 230-5030.

back to topBusiness Profits Tax

Statute: RSA 77-A
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 300
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is it?
An 8.5% tax, for taxable periods ending on or after July 1, 2001, is assessed on income from conducting business activity within the state. For multi-state businesses, income is apportioned, using a weighted sales factor of 2 and the payroll and property factors. Organizations operating a unitary business must use combined reporting in filing their NH return.

Who pays it?
Any business organization, organized for gain or profit carrying on business activity within the state is subject to this tax. However, organizations with $50,000 or less of gross business income from all their activities are not required to file a return.

When is the return due?
Corporate returns are due on the 15th day of the 3rd month following the end of the taxable period. Proprietorship, partnership and fiduciary returns are due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable period. Non-profit returns are due on the 15th day of the 5th month following the end of the taxable period.

Do I have to make estimated payments?
Yes, if your estimated tax liability exceeds $200. Four estimate payments are required, paid at 25% each on the 15 th day of the 4th , 6th , 9th and 12th month of the taxable period.

How do I register my new business?
New businesses must register by writing to the NH Secretary of State's Office, Corporate Division, 107 N. Main Street, Concord, NH 03301-4989 or by calling (603) 271-3246.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Taxpayer Services at (603) 230-5920 or write to NH DRA at PO Box 637, Concord, NH 03302-0637.

back to topBusiness Enterprise Tax

Statute: RSA 77-E
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 2400
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is it?
A 0.75% tax is assessed on the enterprise value tax base, which is the sum of all compensation paid or accrued, interest paid or accrued, and dividends paid by the business enterprise, after special adjustments and apportionment.

Who pays it?
Enterprises with more than $150,000 of gross receipts from all their activities, or an enterprise value tax base more than $75,000, are required to file a return.

When is the return due?
Corporate and combined returns are due on the 15th day of the 3rd month following the end of the taxable period. Proprietorship, partnership and fiduciary returns are due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable period. Non-profit returns are due on the 15th day of the 5th month following the end of the taxable period.

Do I have to make estimated payments?
Yes, if your estimated tax liability exceeds $200. Four estimate payments are required, paid at 25% each on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th month of the taxable period.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Taxpayer Services at (603) 230-5920 or write to the NH DRA at PO Box 637, Concord, NH 03302-0637.

back to topCommunication Services Tax

Statute: RSA 82-A Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 1600
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is it?
A 7% tax on all two-way communication services.

Who pays it?
The tax is paid by the consumer and collected by two-way communication providers. All two-way communication providers are responsible for collecting the tax from the consumer and filing a return with the Department.

When is the return due?
Returns must be filed on a monthly basis by the 15th day of the following month.

Do I have to make estimated payments?
Yes. An estimated payment equal to 90% of the actual tax collected is due on or before the 15th day of the month during which the liability is incurred.

Who do I contact with questions?
Audit Division, PO Box 457, Concord, NH 03302-0457, or call (603) 230-5030.

back to topElectricity Consumption Tax

Statute: RSA 83-E
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 2600

What is it?
Beginning on May 1, 2001, there is a tax assessed on consumers of electricity in the amount of $.00055 per kilowatt hour of electricity consumed.

Who pays it?
The tax is paid by the consumer, collected and submitted by distribution companies, except in the case of consumers who generate their own power. These self-generating companies or individuals must submit tax returns on their own behalf.

When is the return due?
Returns (DP-133) must be filed on the 15th day of the second month following the month in which the tax is collected from the consumers.

Do I have to make estimated payments?
No.

Who do I contact with questions?
Audit Division, PO Box 457, Concord, NH 03302-0457, or call (603) 230-5030.

back to topMeals and Rentals Tax

Statute: RSA 78-A
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 700

What is it?
A 9% tax is assessed upon patrons of hotels and restaurants, on rooms and meals costing $.36 or more. A 9% tax is also assessed on motor vehicle rentals and campsites.

Note: Motor vehicle fees, other than the Motor Vehicle Rental Tax, are administered by the NH Department of Safety. For more information on motor vehicle fees, please contact the NH Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles, 23 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305. (603) 227-4000.

Who pays it?
The tax is paid by the consumer and collected by operators of hotels, restaurants, food service, room rental, and motor vehicle rentals.

When is the tax due?
The tax is due on the 15 th day of the month following the taxable period. Electronic filing, via touch tone telephone and personal computer, are available to Meals and Rentals Operators. A paper return is not required if filing electronically, but operator's must retain the meals and rentals worksheet. Electronic filing is required unless your taxable revenue is less than $25,000 in the prior calendar year. Operators with taxable revenue over $25,000 in the prior calendar year will not be allowed to retain their commission unless they file electronically. Approved seasonal operators must file reports for each month of their approved season even if no tax is due.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Taxpayer Services at (603) 230-5900 or write to the Collection Division, PO Box 454, Concord, NH 03302-0454.

back to topTobacco Tax

Statute: RSA 78
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 1000

What is it?
A tax on each pack of 20 cigarettes and pack of 25 cigarettes. A comparable tax rate for smokeless tobacco and loose tobacco products is established by the department twice per year.

Who pays it?
The tax is paid by the consumer and collected by retailers and wholesalers.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Taxpayer Services at (603) 230-5900 or write to the Collection Division, PO Box 454, Concord, NH 03302-0454.

back to topReal Estate Transfer Tax

Statute: RSA 78-B
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 800

What is it?
A tax on the transfer, sale or granting of real property or an interest in real property. The tax is $.75 per $100 of the price or consideration of the transfer.

Who pays it?
The tax is assessed on both the buyer and the seller, with a minimum charge of $20 each. The tax is paid at the Register of Deeds office in the county where the property is located.

When is the return due?
A Declaration of Consideration, Form CD-57, and a Real Estate Transfer Questionnaire, Form PA-34, must be filed with the Department of Revenue Administration within 30 days from the recording of the deed.

Where do I obtain the forms for filing?
You may obtain Form CD-57 and PA-34 from our forms page.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Taxpayer Services at (603) 230-5030 or write to the Audit Division, PO Box 457, Concord, NH 03302-0457.

back to topTimber Tax

For Timber Tax purposes, what is taxable? Timber on all landownership is taxable at 10% of the stumpage value at the time of cutting. The only exceptions are shade and ornamental trees, sugar orchards, nursery stock, Christmas trees, firewood for the manufacture of maple syrup and 20 cords of firewood for domestic heating and/or 10 thousand board feet of saw logs for personal use by the landowner within the state. You do not have to wait for the paperwork from the state before work can begin as long as the town has signed the Intent to Cut form. Even if you do not end up cutting anything, you still need to file a Report of Cut.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Property Appraisal Division at (603) 230-5950.

back to topGravel Tax

If we are excavating on our own property and not selling our gravel commercially, are we subject to paying the gravel tax?
Incidental excavations as described under RSA 155-E:2-a, I, (a) & (b) which do not remove more than 1000 cubic yards of earth from the site are exempt from the excavation tax and filing the Notice of Intent to Excavate. Excavation that removes more than 1000 cubic yards is taxable whether it is sold or given away.

Who do I contact with questions?
Call Property Appraisal Division at (603) 230-5950.

back to topState Education Property Tax

Statute: RSA 76
Municipal Finance Bureau Frequently Asked Questions and Answers
Assessment Bureau Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is it?
A state education property tax rate of total equalized valuation is assessed on all New Hampshire property owners. The tax is assessed and collected by local municipalities.

Who pays it?
New Hampshire Property owners.

When is the tax due?
Property tax bills are issued by the municipality where the property is located on either an annual, semi-annual or quarterly basis. Due dates vary based upon the issue date of the bill.

Who do I contact with questions?
Municipal Services Division, PO Box 487, Concord, NH 03302-0487, or call (603) 230-5090.

Low & Moderate Income Homeowner's Property Tax Relief Program

back to topUtility Property Tax

Statute: RSA 83-F

What is it?
A tax of $6.60 per $1,000 of value of utility property is placed on all real estate, buildings and structures, machinery, dynamos, apparatus, poles, wires and pipelines located within New Hampshire employed in the generation, production, supply, distribution, transmission, or transportation of electric power, natural gas, crude petroleum, refined petroleum products, water, or sewage. Telephone and cable television lines and poles, water pollution control facilities, as well as property otherwise exempt from local taxation, are exempt from the utility property tax.

Who pays it?
Utility property owners.

When is the tax due?
The Utility Property Tax is due annually on or before January 15.

Do I have to make estimated payments?
Yes. Contact the Community Services Division for information on estimates due for the current tax year. Declarations and payments of 25% of the estimated tax, based on the tax for the preceding year, are due on April 15, June 15, September 15, and December 15.

Who do I contact with questions?
Property Appraisal Division, PO Box 487, Concord, NH 03302-0487, or call (603) 230-5950.

back to topLocal Property Tax

Statute: RSA 76
Administrative Rules: Chapter Rev 600

What is it?
Local property taxes, based upon assessed valuation, are assessed, levied and collected by municipalities.

Who pays it?
Property owners.

When is the tax due?
Property tax bills are issued by the municipality, where the property is located on either an annual, semi-annual or quarterly basis. Due dates vary based upon the issue date of the bill.

Who do I contact with questions?
Property Appraisal Division, PO Box 487, Concord, NH 03302-0487, or call (603) 230-5950.

  • Exemptions, Deferral, or Credit Against Local Property Taxes - Contact your municipality for more details.
  • Elderly Exemption - RSA 72:39-a , effective 7/23/96. Exemption is based upon age, net income limits, including Social Security income, and net asset limits.
  • Tax Exemption for the Physically Handicapped - RSA 72:37-a. This exemption is limited to a physically handicapped person who resides at the residential real estate, and is applicable only upon the value of any special aids required to enable the resident to propel themselves.
  • Deferral for the Elderly and Disabled - RSA 72:38-a. The local assessing officials, "…may annually grant a person qualified under this paragraph a tax deferral…" Property taxes are deferred and accrue interest at the rate of 5% percent per annum.  The deferred property tax may not exceed more than 85% of the equity value of the residence. The deferral is available if granted by the assessing officials, to any resident property owner who is at least 65 years old or eligible under TitleII or Title XVI of the Federal Social Security Act for benefits for the disabled, has owned the home for at least five years, and is currently residing there.
  • Veterans Tax Credit - RSA 72:28. Qualifying residents shall have the following amounts deducted from their tax bills:
    • $50 or $100 (if voted by the town) credit available to all qualified veterans or surviving spouse.
    • $700 or $1400 (if voted by the town) for veterans qualifying based on a total and permanent service connected disability. ( RSA 72:35 )
    • Residents who qualify as being blind (5/200), paraplegic or having double amputation from military service connected disability and owning a specially adapted home acquired with V.A. assistance are exempt from 100% of the tax bill on that residence. (RSA 72:36-a)
  • Local Optional Exemptions - The following exemptions are optional as adopted by the municipality. Individuals should contact their local municipality for more details.
  • Blind Exemption - RSA 72:37. If adopted by the local municipality, the exemption is a minimum of $15,000 off the assessed value of the residential real estate (RSA 72:29) and could be higher if amended through referendum vote.
  • Disabled Exemption - RSA 72:37-b. If adopted by the local municipality, this exemption is available to persons eligible under Title II or Title XVI of the Federal Social Security Act for benefits to the disabled. Applicable only on the applicant's principal place of abode. The exemption is optional and must be voted on by the municipality, which also determines the amount of the exemption and the income/asset limitations.
  • Tax Exemption for Wind-powered, Solar and Wood-heating Energy Systems - RSA 72:66, RSA 72:62 and RSA 72:70. These exemptions are optional to the cities and towns. If further information is required, contact the assessing officials of the municipality.

Photocopies of New Hampshire tax laws, statutes, and administrative rules may be obtained for free from this Web site or for a fee by writing to or visiting the New Hampshire State Library and Information Services, 20 Park Street, Concord, NH 03301. NH State Tax Forms and the Taxpayers' Bill of Rights are available from this web site or by calling our forms line at (603) 230-5001. Taxpayer assistance is available between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm every business day at (603) 230-5920.

Individuals who need auxiliary aids for effective communication in programs and services of the NH Department of Revenue Administration are invited to make their needs and preferences known.

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

 


 

© NH Department of Revenue Administration ~ 109 Pleasant Street ~ Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Phone: 603-230-5000 ~ Fax: 603-230-5945 ~ TDD Access Relay NH: 1-800-735-2964
Municipal Services ~ Phone: 603-230-5090 ~ Fax: 603-230-5947
Property Appraisal ~ Phone: 603-230-5950 ~ Fax: 603-230-5943
Collections ~ Phone: 603-230-5900 ~ Fax: 603-230-5946
Hearings Bureau ~ Phone 603-230-5002 ~ Fax 603-230-5948
Contact the Webmaster

Copyright © State of New Hampshire, 2007